English Asatya Yoga

ASTEYA ( A principle of non stealing )


In Sanskrit "Ashta+anga" is Ashtanga. "Ashta" means Eight and "Anga" is limbs so it means Eight Limb path, ashtanga yoga is based on Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali. The asanas, Pranayamas or the dharana which we have studied earlier or the yam and niyam are based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Hence, we will acquaint ourselves with the fundamentals as stated by Patanjali first.
1. Yama           -    Principles or moral code.                                                                                     
2. Niyama       -    Personal Disciplines.                                                                                   
3. Asana          -    Yoga Positions or Yogic Postures.                                                           
4. Pranayama -    Extension and control of breath.                                                                                     
5. Pratyahara  -     Withdrawal of Senses.                                                                              
6. Dharna        -     Concentration on Object.                                                                             
7. Dhayana      -     Meditation.                                                                                               
8. Samadhi      -     Salvation.


Asteya ( A principle of non stealing )

Satya should also be considered in depth. It does not only cover speaking the truth. Proper understanding of the talk and the mind is the truth. Here, proper means exactly what is seen, understood or heard, the same thing should be followed by our tendency to talk and also by the mind.