English Aparigraha Yoga Sutras


In Sanskrit "Ashta+anga" is Ashtanga. "Ashta" means Eight and "Anga" is limbs so it means Eight Limb path, ashtanga yoga is based on Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali. The asanas, Pranayamas or the dharana which we have studied earlier or the yam and niyam are based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Hence, we will acquaint ourselves with the fundamentals as stated by Patanjali first.


1. Yama           -    Principles or moral code.                                                                                     
2. Niyama       -    Personal Disciplines.                                                                                   
3. Asana          -    Yoga Positions or Yogic Postures.                                                           
4. Pranayama -    Extension and control of breath.                                                                                     
5. Pratyahara  -     Withdrawal of Senses.                                                                              
6. Dharna        -     Concentration on Object.                                                                             
7. Dhayana      -     Meditation.                                                                                               
8. Samadhi      -     Salvation.


Aparigraha ( Non-possessiveness )

Aparigraha is non-covetousness. This involves being happy and content with what we need and not always coveting unnecessary and luxury items. To possess more than we need is a violation of this precept. Note that aparigraha includes the notion of not accepting gifts that would bind us to the giver.