Ahimsa English




1. Yama           -    Principles or moral code.                                                                                     

2. Niyama       -    Personal Disciplines.                                                                                   

3. Asana          -    Yoga Positions or Yogic Postures.                                                           

4. Pranayama -    Extension and control of breath.                                                                                     

5. Pratyahara  -     Withdrawal of Senses.                                                                              

6. Dharna        -     Concentration on Object.                                                                             

7. Dhayana      -     Meditation.                                                                                               

8. Samadhi      -     Salvation.


Ahimsa ( A principle of non-violence )


Ahimsa means not to kill anyone

Killing generates pain; hence ahimsa can mean not to cause pain to anyone.

Yoga demands ahimsa in totality. That mean, himsa does not mean only killing or hitting anyone.

That is a limited meaning of the word or only physical aspect. To hurt someone mentally is also a himsa.

That is oral himsa. Yoga also states further that even thinking ill of someone is also a himsa, which is a mental himsa. Hence, ahimsa covers

all aspects such as physical, oral, mental.


Premanand  Ashtanga  Yoga Book Read Online :  https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1bOTK0PmlwdtiSMyAZ2NtqpcuWeibfwrabwR7-YbUSbk/edit?usp=sharing